Harper Lee named National Medal of Arts winner

Harper Lee, whose 1961 bestseller To Kill a Mockingbird was one of my top picks for the year, is to be awarded the National Medal of Arts in a White House ceremony tomorrow.

Lee  won’t be attending the White House ceremony.  You can see a photo of her at a 2005 appearance.

Other writers getting awards Wednesday are:

  • Robert Brustein for  contributions to the American theatre
  • Donald Hall for contributions to American poetry.
  • Bernard Bailyn, author of two Pulitzer Prize-winning works, The Ideological Origins of the American Revolution and Voyagers to the West
  • Jacques Barzun, author of dozens of books of cultural history
  • Wendell E. Berry, poet and  novelist
  • Joyce Carol Oates, novelist, poet, short story and nonfiction writer
  • Arnold Rampersad, biographer and literary critic
  • Philip Roth, author of 24 novels
  • Gordon Wood, author and editor of 18 books dealing with the founding of America
  • Roberto Gonzalez Echevarria, literary critic, and author of Myth and Archive: A Theory of Latin American Narrative

A complete list of winners of the National Medal of Arts and the National Humanities Medal is here.


Published by

Linda Aragoni

I read. I write. I think. I make big ideas simple. I help teachers teach expository writing to teens and adults. In my free time, I read and review old novels.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.